World Cup 2022 draw: Start time, how to watch on TV, teams, pots, seedings and Qatar group format

The road to Qatar has been mapped out as England and their fellow contenders prepare for the group-stage draw on Friday afternoon. Players from Manchester United and Manchester City will be eagerly waiting to see who they will face at the biggest sporting event on the planet.

Bruno Fernandes and Cristiano Ronaldo helped Portugal through their play-off game with North Macedonia as City players Joao Cancelo and Bernardo Silva also played their part. Beyond those stars, others from this footballing city have had their sights firmly set on Qatar for quite some time.

When is the World Cup draw?

The draw for the group-stage of the 2022 World Cup in Qatar will take place on Friday, April 1.

READ MORE: Mejbri emulates Ronaldo as three Manchester United players miss World Cup

What time is the World Cup draw?

For those watching in the UK, the draw – held in Qatar – will commence at around 5pm.

How can I watch the draw?

There are three options if you want to watch the draw unfold as it happens. Governing body FIFA are set to steam on their official website and BBC One also have broadcasting rights in the UK. Coverage will start at 4.45pm and will be hosted by presenter Mark Chapman. Alternatively, you can follow updates from Manchester Evening News .

Which nations could England play?

That depends on what happens with the early part of the draw. Based on FIFA rankings, England find themselves in Pot 1 along with the usual suspects and host nation Qatar – who have already been drawn in Group A. Each group is set to contain one country from each pot, but FIFA also separate teams geographically.

Five groups will contain two nations under the UEFA bracket as there are 13 taking part. In turn, that means England can only draw Scotland or Wales (if they qualify) if they are not pitted against another European team from Pot 3 or Pot 4. For the first time, the draw is taking place with some places still up for grabs.

What the group-stage pot numbers?

Pot 1: Qatar, Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, England, France, Portugal, Spain.

Pot 2: Croatia, Denmark, Germany, Mexico, Netherlands, Switzerland, United States, Uruguay.

Pot 3: Iran, Japan, Morocco, Poland, Senegal, Serbia, South Korea, Tunisia.

Pot 4: Australia/Peru/UAE, Cameroon, Canada, Costa Rica/New Zealand, Ecuador, Ghana, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine/Scotland/Wales

We want your views, Reds. You can become even more involved with our Man United coverage by signing up. This will unlock a whole host of things – including joining the comments and taking part in our special Q&As, where you can speak directly to our reporters about what’s happening at Old Trafford this week and beyond.

Click here to get started.

Sign up to our United newsletter so you never miss an update from Old Trafford this season.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.