MHSAA girls tennis state finals: Ann Arbor Pioneer repeats

The MHSAA girls tennis state finals was an equal coronation of repeat and new team champions. 

Grand Rapids Forest Hills Northern once again won the Division 2 state title with 34 team points on Saturday in Holland. It’s the 11th championship for Forest Hills Northern since 2002. Birmingham Seaholm finished second with 30 points. 

But unlike last year, Forest Hills Northern came up empty in the individual honors. Mattawan’s Lizzie Novak topped FHN’s Abby Siminski, last year’s champion, 6-1, 6-3, in the No. 1 final. Mattawan’s Romika Shokohi beat beat FHN’s Nathalie Lanne, 6-1, 6-0, at No. 2 and Portage Central’s Anna Dinsmore beat FHN’s Andrea Wang, 7-6, 6-0, for the No. 3 title. And at No. 4 singles, Battle Creek Lakeview’s Paula Martinez beat FHN’s Miriam Ogilvie, 7-6, 0-6, 6-2. Last season, FHN won three of the four flights. 

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.